- Advertisement -
HomeEntertainmentSportsVijay Hazare Trophy: Despite Dinesh Karthik's century, Tamil Nadu lost, Himachal created...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Despite Dinesh Karthik’s century, Tamil Nadu lost, Himachal created history

Himachal Pradesh won the title of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 by defeating five-time champions Tamil Nadu by 11 runs under the VJD method to become champions for the first time. The hero of his victory was opener Shubham Arora, who played an unbeaten 136 runs in 131 balls with 13 fours and a six to spoil the celebration of Dinesh Karthik’s (116) century. Tamil Nadu had scored 316, while Himachal had scored 299 for 4 in 47.3 overs, when the match was stopped due to bad light and then Himchal was declared the winner.

Earlier, Tamil Nadu team, batting first, scored 316 runs in 49.4 overs for the loss of all wickets. The team had a poor start and its first 4 wickets fell for 40 runs. Baba Aparajith (2), Jagadeesan (9), Sai Kishore (18) and Murugan Ashwin (7) were dismissed cheaply. Dinesh Karthik scored a century and Indrajit scored a half-century to take the team to a big score.

Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik played the highest innings of 116 runs for the team. He faced 103 balls, while hitting 8 fours and 7 sixes. Apart from him, Indrajit scored 80 runs in 71 balls with the help of 8 fours and a six, while Shahrukh Khan scored 22 runs in 16 balls. Apart from these, none of the Tamil Nadu batsmen could perform very well.

Man of the match Shubham Arora (136 not out) and Prashant Chopra (21), who came out to bat in reply, added 60 runs for the first wicket. However, after Prashant’s dismissal, Digvijay Rangi (0) felt that Tamil Nadu would return without opening the account, but it did not happen. Shubham, along with Nikhil (18) and Amit Kumar (74), made a fine partnership to salvage the team.

In the end, he, along with captain Rishi Dhawan (42 not out), seemed to lead the team to victory easily, after bowling the third ball of the 48th over, the match had to be stopped due to poor light and shortly after VJD method. Himachal Pradesh was declared the winner. This is how he won his first Vijay Hazare Trophy title.


- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -