- Advertisement -
HomeEntertainmentSportsTeam India won the Test series against Australia in Australia

Team India won the Test series against Australia in Australia

It was a mixed year for the Indian cricket team but there was one achievement that created history. Despite making a shameful start, Team India won the Test series against Australia in Australia. After a humiliating defeat in the first match, captain Virat Kohli returned to India for personal reasons and under the captaincy of Ajinkya Rahane, the team made a strong comeback and did something that no one expected.

India created history by defeating Australia in the Test series in Australia in the second innings. In the last series, when India’s team was considered stronger than Australia, the team won 2-1. This year, India also defeated Australia, which came with its full strength. The result of the four-match Border Gavaskar Series went in India’s favor 2-1.

Embarrassing defeat in Adelaide

India suffered such a defeat in the first test match against Australia, after which if any other team had been there, it would have broken but here the reverse happened. Team India was reduced to just 36 runs in the second innings of the Adelaide Test. Taking a lesson from this heartbreaking performance, the Indian team made a strong comeback and captured the series. India bundled out Australia for 191 runs after making 244 runs in the first innings. After this, Team India could score only 36 runs in the second innings. The hosts scored 93 for 2 wickets, won the match by 8 wickets and took a 1-0 lead in the series.

Team India’s strong attack

The second match was played in Melbourne, in place of captain Kohli, Rahane took charge and the team made a strong comeback to level the series by winning the match by 8 wickets. In the first innings, Australia were all out for 195 by the bowlers of Team India. In reply, on the back of captain Rahane’s century, India made 326 runs in the first innings and took a 126-run lead. In the second innings, the hosts could only manage 200 runs. India scored 70 runs for the loss of 2 wickets and won.

Combat innings from Sydney Test Vihari and Ashwin

In the rain-interrupted match, Australia got India to draw the match on the basis of the belligerent innings of R Ashwin and Hanuma Vihari. Rishabh Pant played a powerful innings of 97 runs in the second innings but missed out on a century. Australia scored 338 runs in the first innings, then India’s first innings was reduced to 244 runs. After this, Australia declared the innings after scoring 312 runs in the second innings. Even after the injury, Vihari along with Ashwin pulled out the day’s play and got the match drawn.


Australia’s pride broken at the Gabba

India beat Australia at the Gabba, breaking their 32-year winning record. Gaba’s pride was shattered and his dream of winning the trophy was also shattered. Australia scored 369 runs in the first innings, in response to which the Indian team scored 336 runs. Batting with the lead, the Kangaroo team was reduced to 294 runs in the second innings. India had a tough target of 328 runs but Shubman Gill’s 91, Pujara’s 56 and Rishabh Pant’s unbeaten 89 made history by achieving the target for the loss of 7 wickets.

- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -