Bat or Pad first?
The dismissal of Virat Kohli was the sixth blow to India. He was fast moving towards the half-century. Patiently playing a brilliant innings. During his 84-ball innings, he was only beaten or hit on the body five times before being dismissed. In an attempt to stop spinner Matthew Kuhneman on the third ball of the 50th over, the ball hit the pad. Umpire Nitin Menon raised his finger on the loud appeal. Kohli did not delay at all in taking the review as he was sure that the ball had hit the first bat.
soft dismissal was heavy
Replays clearly showed that the ball hit both pad and bat at the same time, but as the ball hit the stumps and was given out by the field umpire, there was no evidence for the third umpire to overturn it. In such a situation, Kohli had to return disappointed. Before getting out, King Kohli faced 84 balls and scored 44 runs with the help of 4 fours.
: Language Inputs
This post is sourced from newspapers, magazines and third-party websites. For more information please check NewsDay Express Disclaimer.