SL vs BAN : ICC ODI World Cup match was played between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in Delhi on Monday. In this match, the wicket of Sri Lankan player Angelo Mathews has created a ruckus. He was ‘timed out’ during the match. This happened for the first time in the history of international cricket that a batsman went out of the field after being ‘timed out’.
The Sri Lankan team looked very disappointed with this time out. Not only this, the Sri Lankan team also refused to join hands with Bangladesh after the match. Meanwhile, Angelo Mathews has presented evidence on the social media platform that he has not been timed out. After presenting their evidence, this matter has increased further.
Matthews gave evidence
After the match, Angelo Mathews, while replying to an ICC post on social media platform X, wrote – The fourth umpire is wrong here! It is seen in the video that even after the helmet got damaged, I still had 5 seconds left. Can the fourth umpire improve it? I mean player’s safety first, I can’t face the bowler without a helmet.” He also shared another picture in which a Bangladesh player has taken the catch and within two minutes Angelo was inside the crease.
But when he prepared himself to play the ball, the strap of his helmet broke. Taking advantage of this, Shakib Al Hasan appealed for time out and the umpire declared the Sri Lankan batsman out. But if Angelo’s proof is true then it is a big mistake on the part of the umpire.
What is time out?
According to 40.1.1, after the fall of a wicket, the next coming batsman must be ready to play the next ball within 3 minutes. If the new batsman is unable to do so then he is given out. This is called time out.
For all the news of the country and the world, our YouTube Channel ‘DNP INDIA’ Subscribe now. you us FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM And TWITTER You can also follow on.